Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

It’s been almost two weeks since my last post, which was much longer than I intended. I never realised that getting old would be so time consuming.

So yes, despite my best efforts, I have, alas, aged another year which has rendered my ‘About’ page – in which I describe myself as a 21-year-old – a bitter lie.

So now that it has become an absolute necessity to update that, I thought I would take the opportunity to introduce myself properly on here and give you all an overview of the person behind all these deep, meaningful musings (coming soon…).

In case it’s not glaringly obvious, I’m a female, and in my early-twenties. I’m not a fan of the terms ‘male’ and ‘female’ as stand-alone nouns, they sound far too clinical for my liking, but I say female because apparently my age now makes me ineligible to claim girlhood benefits, but I don’t quite feel worthy of the ‘woman’ title yet, so I’ve put my application on hold, you know, until I’ve got a few more years of experience on my metaphorical CV.

It is probably safe to say therefore, that my blog will serve as my bildungsroman, albeit without the logical narrative, thematic focus and errr general literary value.

I suppose I should have started the polite way and given you my name. In the online world, and increasingly in the real world, I go by the name, or rather the Anglicism, Abi Nathan. And no, I don’t do this out of self-loathing or out of a need to fit in; I do this because I do not care to hear my precious name be slaughtered by such unsophisticated tongues as I generally come across.

Many people think of names as arbitrary, but I don’t, so for the purpose of making this post a meaningful representation of me I will tell you about my real name: Abinaya. A word of Sanskrit origin, used to describe the dramatic or expressive aspect of Bharathanatyam (a form of South Indian classical dance). Simplified, you can take it to mean both drama, and expression, two sides of the same coin. In the past I was told by those close to me that I was very aptly named, primarily, to be blunt, for being a drama queen. While this served as a hilarious running joke among my family and friends for many years, you can understand that revelling in such a reputation is hardly becoming of the lady that I profess to be these days. (Besides, the Huffington Post tells me I’m now an introvert.)

After a tumultuous period of my life, which I call the Dark Ages, but many simply refer to as the ‘Teen Age’, I finally stood up and decided to chisel the drama into the more refined aspect of Abinaya – expression. Of course being expressive is the sole skill required of artists (which I consider writers to be) and your success as an artist depends entirely on the extent to which you can touch people with your expressions. It was around this time that I started reading again (not just begrudgingly the texts on my academic reading lists, but for the joy and discovery and journey) and ultimately started trying to become the writer that I had always wanted to be.

Oh look at me, I do go on don’t I, and oh bother, I’ve gone way over the statistically optimum word limit, so I better wrap this up quickly.

Other formalities: I am currently a student of Humanities and French at University College London, I grew up on the mean streets (lol) of the North-West London suburbia and I was born in Jaffna, Tamil Eelam. I therefore make do with the labels British, Tamil and Londoner in any varying combinations. I do many things in my spare time that fit either in the category of Tamil activism (Tamil Guardian), dance or fashion.

I have developed a recent (and immensely enjoyable) habit of stopping and staring at things (sunsets and pink clouds, red doors, period architecture, well dressed people, nice hair etc).

I stop short of divulging my body measurements because this is not a modelling agency database and in any case I wouldn’t want to make you all jealous (!).

