Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Gone with the Wind by Margaret Mitchell (1936)

– I didn’t wordplay the title of this post because the title itself is too iconic a phrase

[Love: Classics/Historical Fiction/Civil War]

“After all, tomorrow is another day.”

In the UK, Gone with the Wind is one of those things which are – how do I put this – just not that big a deal. Or maybe it is, and I just never realised, but honestly I didn’t even know it was a book until fairly recently, having only known of the film from (American) pop culture references and obviously the iconic posters.

The Guardian says of the book:

“When it was finally published it was an overnight sensation, winning Mitchell the Pulitzer prize. The 1939 epic starring Vivien Leigh and Clark Gable was the highest grossing film in the history of Hollywood and sealed its fate as one of the most popular love stories of all time (the film was responsible for the famous “frankly”). It has, apparently, sold more copies than any book since, apart from the Bible.”

I did quite enjoy the book when I read it, and I can see why it’s so iconic, although honestly I was more intrigued by the wartime events than the actual romantic storylines. Yes – I confess – everything I know about the American civil war, I learnt from Gone with the Wind. I can also see how Scarlett O’Hara, being possibly the most infuriating, frustrating yet begrudgingly admirable fictional character I have come across, is one of this century’s most talked about heroines.

“Perhaps – I want the old days back again and they’ll never come back, and I am haunted by the memory of them and of the world falling about my ears.”

